Archives: April2008
  • 2008 Clarke Award Winner

    It has been announced that Richard K. Morgan’s novel Black Man/Thirteen (UK title/American title) is the winner of the 2008 Arthur C. Clarke Award. This award, originally funded by Clarke himself with the intention of popularizing science fiction in the UK, serves as a means of selecting the best novel in the genre released in Britain during the previous year. More information on the award and past winners can be found on the official home page.

  • What to read next?

    I’m having a problem deciding what to read after I finish my current book so I added another poll for which book to read and review next. Plus seeing what people choose is fun! There are 5 fantasy books to choose from since I’ve been on a science fiction kick lately and I don’t want to annoy you all by reading too many non-fantasy books on a book review blog that claims to be about fantasy. The options are: Before […]

  • Guest Review of God’s Demon

    God’s Demonby Wayne Barlowe352pp (Hardcover)My Rating: 7/10Amazon Rating: 4.5/5LibraryThing Rating: 4/5Goodreads Rating: 3.57/5 Wayne Barlowe’s God’s Demon is a lengthy response to a short, though complicated, question: is redemption possible for even those who have committed the worst sin imaginable? In order to answer this question he presents a sort of case study of a being whose sin goes far beyond any action of which a mere human is capable. God’s Demon is the story of Sargatanas, a seraph who […]

  • Review of Cordelia’s Honor

    Cordelia’s Honorby Lois McMaster Bujold608pp (Paperback)My Rating: 8/10Amazon Rating: 4.5/5LibraryThing Rating: 4.37/5Good Reads Rating: 4.26/5 Cordelia’s Honor contains the first two chronological novels in Lois McMaster Bujold’s Miles Vorkosigan series, Shards of Honor and Barrayar. These books could also be viewed as prequels to the series since they are not actually about the life of Miles but instead tell the story of how his parents met and how Miles came to be disfigured before birth. Shards of Honor is Bujold’s […]

  • Nebula Award Winners Announced

    This year’s Nebula Award winners have been announced on the Science Fiction Awards Watch Blog. The following is a list of the winners: Novel: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union – Michael Chabon (HarperCollins, May07) Novella: “Fountain of Age” – Nancy Kress (Asimov’s, Jul07) Novelette: “The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate” – Ted Chiang (F&SF, Sep07) Short Story: “Always” – Karen Joy Fowler (Asimov’s, Apr/May07) Script: Pan’s Labyrinth – Guillermo del Toro (Time/Warner, Jan07) Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction […]

  • Guest Shameless Retroreview Plug: The Beggars Trilogy

    Nancy Kress’s Beggars Trilogy (Beggars in Spain, Beggars and Choosers, and Beggars Ride) is an exploration of the world she created in her Hugo and Nebula Award winning novella, also called Beggars in Spain. All three books are among my favorite reads of all time, full of interesting ideas and unique characters, but I don’t believe they always get the recognition they deserve in the science fiction community. This trilogy follows the path of a near-future United States–and by extension, […]