Tags: News
2008 Clarke Award Winner

It has been announced that Richard K. Morgan’s novel Black Man/Thirteen (UK title/American title) is the winner of the 2008 Arthur C. Clarke Award. This award, originally funded by Clarke himself with the intention of popularizing science fiction in the UK, serves as a means of selecting the best novel in the genre released in Britain during the previous year. More information on the award and past winners can be found on the official home page.

Nebula Award Winners Announced

This year’s Nebula Award winners have been announced on the Science Fiction Awards Watch Blog. The following is a list of the winners: Novel: The Yiddish Policemen’s Union – Michael Chabon (HarperCollins, May07) Novella: “Fountain of Age” – Nancy Kress (Asimov’s, Jul07) Novelette: “The Merchant and the Alchemist’s Gate” – Ted Chiang (F&SF, Sep07) Short Story: “Always” – Karen Joy Fowler (Asimov’s, Apr/May07) Script: Pan’s Labyrinth – Guillermo del Toro (Time/Warner, Jan07) Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction […]

2008 Hugo Finalists Announced

The 2008 Hugo Finalists have been announced. The nominees for best novel are: The Yiddish Policeman’s Union by Michael Chabon (HarperCollins, Fourth Estate) Brasyl by Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr) Rollback by Robert J. Sawyer (Tor; Analog Oct. 2006-Jan/Feb. 2007) The Last Colony by John Scalzi (Tor) Halting State by Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit) The list seems a bit underwhelming, but I haven’t actually read any of those so I guess I can’t say too much about it. I would like […]

Arthur C. Clarke has died

Arthur C. Clarke, one of the few true visionaries of science and science fiction in the twentieth century, died today. Clarke is in a very select category of people, along with a few others like Isaac Asimov and Carl Sagan, who not only showed what the future could be but also worked to help create it. Anything I write would be insufficient to describe his impact on the world we live in, both through influencing others and his own direct […]

Read American Gods for Free

A little while ago I posted about a post in Neil Gaiman’s blog in which he asked readers to vote for a book to make available online for free for a month. The winner of the poll was American Gods, and it is now available here.

Nebula Finalists for 2008 Announced

Locus Online (and many other places) have a complete list of the finalists for this year’s Nebula awards. The finalists for the novel category are as follows: The Accidental Time Machine, Joe Haldeman (Ace) The New Moon’s Arms, Nalo Hopkinson (Warner) Odyssey, Jack McDevitt (Ace 2006) Ragamuffin, Tobias S. Buckell (Tor) The Yiddish Policeman’s Union, Michael Chabon (HarperCollins) I have yet to read any of these, although I really want to read Buckell’s Crystal Rain and the follow-up Ragamuffin (if […]