The Leaning Pile of Books is a feature where I talk about books I got over the last week – old or new, bought or received for review consideration. Since I hope you will find new books you’re interested in reading in these posts, I try to be as informative as possible. If I can find them, links to excerpts, author’s websites, and places where you can find more information on the book are included.

This week brought three finished copies, one of which I already covered when an ARC arrived. As usual, I’m not going to feature the book with details again, but I will link to the original post in case you missed it and want to know more about it:

On to the new books!

The Cats of Tanglewood Forest by Charles de Lint

The Cats of Tanglewood Forest by Charles de Lint; illustrated by Charles Vess

This middle grade book, an original folktale, will be released in hardcover and ebook on March 5, 2013. The hardcover edition is quite a nice-looking book, and this sounds quite charming.


The magic is all around you, if only you open your eyes….

Lillian Kindred spends her days exploring the Tanglewood Forest, a magical, rolling wilderness that she imagines to be full of fairies. The trouble is, Lillian has never seen a wisp of magic in her hills–until the day the cats of the forest save her life by transforming her into a kitten. Now Lillian must set out on a perilous adventure that will lead her through untamed lands of fabled creatures–from Old Mother Possum to the fearsome Bear People–to find a way to make things right.

In this whimsical, original folktale written and illustrated throughout in vibrant full color by two celebrated masters of modern fantasy, a young girl’s journey becomes an enchanting coming-of-age story about magic, friendship, and the courage to shape one’s own destiny.

Seven Kinds of Hell by Dana Cameron

Seven Kinds of Hell (Fangborn #1) by Dana Cameron

The first book in the Fangborn trilogy will be released in trade paperback and ebook on March 12, 2013. Dana Cameron is mainly known for writing mysteries, and she has been an Edgar Award finalist and a recipient of the Anthony, Agatha, and Macavity Awards. Seven Kinds of Hell is an urban fantasy mystery and archaeological thriller.


Archaeologist Zoe Miller has been running from a haunting secret her whole life. But when her cousin is abducted by a vicious Russian kidnapper, Zoe is left with only one option: to reveal herself. Unknown to even her closest friends, Zoe is not entirely human. She’s a werewolf and a daughter of the Fangborn, a secretive race of werewolves, vampires, and oracles embroiled in an ancient war against evil. To rescue her cousin, Zoe will be forced to renew family ties and pit her own supernatural abilities against the dark and nefarious foe. The hunt brings Zoe to the edge of her limits, and with the fate of humanity and the Fangborn in the balance, life will be decided by an artifact of world-ending power.