The Leaning Pile of Books is a feature where I talk about books I got over the last week – old or new, bought or received for review consideration (usually unsolicited). Since I hope you will find new books you’re interested in reading in these posts, I try to be as informative as possible. If I can find them, links to excerpts, author’s websites, and places where you can find more information on the book are included.

Since only one book showed up the week before last, this week’s post covers two weeks. Here’s what happened in the last couple of weeks in case you missed it:

I’m working on a review of Cagebird by Karin Lowachee for Sci-Fi Month, and that will most likely be going up next week.

Now, the books!

A Daughter of No Nation by A. M. Dellamonica

A Daughter of No Nation (Hidden Sea Tales #2) by A. M. Dellamonica

A Daughter of No Nation will be released on December 1 (hardcover, ebook). An excerpt from Child of a Hidden Sea, the first book in the series, is on

Some short stories set in the same world are also available on


The second novel in the Stormwrack series, following a young woman’s odyssey into a fantastical age-of-sail world

All Sophie Hansa wanted was to meet her birth parents. Instead, she and her stepbrother found themselves transported to another world made up of giant archipelagos and people who can magically alter themselves. With her business in Stormwrack finished, it looked like Sophie had seen the last of the Fleet, until she finds the captain of her late aunt’s ship, Parrish Garland, waiting for her at her parents’ home.

Sophie finds out that her birth mother has been imprisoned by her birth father for hiding their daughter, and now Sophie must return to Stormwrack to talk the father she never knew into releasing the mother who wants nothing to do with her. Not only does she have to navigate the troubled social waters of her father’s home nation, she also finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy that could lead to open civil war in the Fleet.

Now Sophie, Bran, and Parrish must unravel a decades-old mystery if they hope to free Sophie’s mom and preserve the peace ensured by the nations united in the Fleet.

Chaos Choreography by Seanan McGuire

Chaos Choreography (InCryptid #5) by Seanan McGuire

The fifth InCryptid book will be released on March 1, 2016 (mass market paperback and ebook with an audiobook to come later). Like the first two books in the series, this one is about Verity Price. The third and fourth books are about her brother Alex.

The previous books in the series are as follows:

  1. Discount Armageddon (my review)
  2. Midnight Blue-Light Special (my review)
  3. Half-off Ragnarok
  4. Pocket Apocalypse

I love Seanan McGuire’s books, especially her October Daye series, and the first book in this series is so much fun! (I did like the second book as well, but not as much as the first.)


Verity Price is back on the West Coast and getting back into the swing of the family business: cryptozoology. She’s rescuing cryptids from bad situations, protecting them from monster-hunters, and generally risking life and limb for the greater good, with her ex-Covenant partner/husband, Dominic, by her side. Her ballroom dance career is behind her—or so she thinks. When Verity gets the call from the producers of Dance or Die, the reality show she almost won several years before, she finds the lure impossible to resist, and she and Dominic are off to L.A. for one last shot at the big time.

Of course, nothing is that simple. When two contestants turn up dead, Verity will need every ally she can find with the investigation, without blowing her cover….

Other Books: