The Leaning Pile of Books is a feature where I discuss books I got over the last week—old or new, bought or received in the mail for review consideration (often these are unsolicited books from publishers). Since I hope you will find new books you’re interested in reading in these posts, I try to be as informative as possible. If I can find them, links to excerpts, author’s websites, and places where you can find more information on the book are included.

There are just a couple of books this week—one of which I’m very curious about!—but first, here’s the latest book review since the last one of these posts in case you missed it:

  • Jade City (The Green Bone Saga #1) by Fonda Lee — I’m still catching up on some reviews from last year and intended to try to get caught up by just writing individual mini reviews of the books I read last year that I liked, including this one. That didn’t exactly work out since I ended up writing a lot about Jade City, which has a fantastic setting and interesting characters but was slow enough at times that I considered not finishing it. However, I found myself unexpectedly invested in the characters and their stories by the end.

And now, recent books in the mail!

Outcasts of Order by L. E. Modesitt, Jr.

Outcasts of Order (The Saga of Recluce #20) by L. E. Modesitt, Jr.

The twentieth book in The Saga of Recluce series, which is also the second book focusing on Beltur’s story after it began with The Mongrel Mage, is available now (hardcover, ebook, audiobook). has an excerpt from Outcasts of Order.


Modesitt continues his bestselling Saga of Recluce with his 20th book in the long-running series. Beltur began his journey in The Mongrel Mage and continues with Outcasts of Order, the next book of his story arc in the Saga of Recluce.

Beltur, an Order mage, discovers he possesses frightening powers not seen for hundreds of years. With his new abilities, he survives the war in Elparta and saves the lives of all. However, victory comes with a price. His fellow mages now see him as a threat to be destroyed, and the local merchants want to exploit his power.

There’s only one way he can remain free and survive―he’s going to have to run.

Saga of Recluce

#1 The Magic of Recluce / #2 The Towers of Sunset / #3 The Order War / #4 The Magic Engineer / #5 The Death of Chaos / #6 Fall of Angels / #7 The Chaos Balance / #8 The White Order / #9 Colors of Chaos / #10 Magi’i of Cyador / #11 Scion of Cyador / #12 Wellspring of Chaos / #13 Ordermaster / #14 Natural Order Mage / #15 Mage-Guard of Hamor / #16 Arms-Commander / #17 Cyador’s Heirs / #18 Heritage of Cyador /#19 The Mongrel Mage / #20 Outcasts of Order

Story Collection: Recluce Tales

Additional Book(s):

* This sounds very intriguing and I already highlighted it in one of these features earlier this year and covered it on my Anticipated 2018 Speculative Fiction Releases list at the beginning of this year.