The Leaning Pile of Books is a feature where I talk about books I got over the last week – old or new, bought or received for review. Since I hope you will find new books you’re interested in reading in these posts, I try to be as informative as possible. If I can find them, links to excerpts, author’s websites, and places where you can find more information on the book are included.

This week brought one of my most anticipated releases of the year as well as three other books. (The other books are all books 2 and 3 in series I haven’t read so my commentary will be limited but I’ll tell you what I can!)

The Killing Moon by N. K. Jemisin

The Killing Moon (The Dreamblood #1) by N. K. Jemisin

Since I loved N. K. Jemisin’s Inheritance trilogy, I have been eagerly anticipating her Dreamblood duology. Fortunately, there is not a long wait in between books. The Killing Moon will be released on May 1 and The Shadowed Sun will follow on June 12. Both books will be available in trade paperback and ebook formats.

Chapter One and Chapter Two from The Killing Moon can be read online, and you can find information on both Dreamblood books here.

If you somehow missed it, N. K. Jemisin was a guest here this past week for Women in SF&F Month. She wrote an excellent post on an experience she had as an eleven-year-old girl involving a book that challenged her idea of “girliness” titled Don’t Fear the Unicorn. I highly recommend reading it as it’s a very thoughtful and well-written piece on an important subject.

Sorry to get sidetracked; I just really want everyone to read what she has to say! Anyway, back to her book. Here’s the description for The Killing Moon:

The city burned beneath the Dreaming Moon.

In the ancient city-state of Gujaareh, peace is the only law. Upon its rooftops and amongst the shadows of its cobbled streets wait the Gatherers – the keepers of this peace. Priests of the dream-goddess, their duty is to harvest the magic of the sleeping mind and use it to heal, soothe . . . and kill those judged corrupt.

But when a conspiracy blooms within Gujaareh’s great temple, Ehiru – the most famous of the city’s Gatherers – must question everything he knows. Someone, or something, is murdering dreamers in the goddess’ name, stalking its prey both in Gujaareh’s alleys and the realm of dreams. Ehiru must now protect the woman he was sent to kill – or watch the city be devoured by war and forbidden magic.

Rage of the Dragon by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

Rage of the Dragon (Dragonships #3) by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

Rage of the Dragon follows Bones of the Dragon and Secret of the Dragon. It will be released in hardcover and ebook on April 24. There is an excerpt available on

From New York Times bestselling authors Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman comes Rage of the Dragon, the action-packed third book in their Dragonships fantasy series.

Skylan Ivorson is the gods-chosen Chief of all Vindras clans. But the gods from whom the Vindrasi draw their earthdwelling power are besieged by a new generation of gods who are challenging them for the powers of creation. The only way to stop these brash interlopers lies within the Five Bones of the Vektia Dragon—the primal dragon forged during the creation of the world—which have been lost for generations.

With the Gods of the New Dawn amassing a vast army, Skylan finds allies in former enemies. Calling upon the ogres to fight their common foes, the Vindrasi soon find themselves in the middle of an even larger war. Skylan and his Vindrasi clan must sail the Sea of Tears into the heart of the Forbidden Empire of the Cyclops, to implement a cunning yet delicate plan that risks his life and leadership at every corner. But a new enemy lies deep in the sea, one who draws upon powers never harnessed by land dwellers.

Master world-builders Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman, who have entertained generations of fans with the Dragonlance series and the Death Gate Cycle, prove they’re at the top of their game.

Ghost Key by Trish J. MacGregor

Ghost Key (The Hungry Ghosts #2) by Trish J. MacGregor

Ghost Key follows Esperanza, the first of The Hungry Ghosts. It will be released on August 21 in hardcover and ebook.

It’s probably a bit early for an excerpt from this one, but there is an excerpt from Esperanza.

Dominica and her tribe of hungry ghosts were driven from Esperanza, that magical city high in the Andes, but they were not all destroyed. As a last devastating blow against Tess Livingston, Dominica seized Tess’s niece Maddie as a host, and fled to the United States. The evil bruja has settled in a small resort town in Florida and is cementing her power over a new tribe of unquiet dead. But she will not be able to take over Cedar Key, not without arousing the suspicion of the US government. And not without attracting the attention of Wayra, her oldest lover and most bitter enemy.

Passion, terror, blood, and courage abound in this supernatural thriller that will take your breath away.

Shadow Blizzard by Alexey Pehov

Shadow Blizzard (The Chronicles of Siala #3) by Alexey Pehov

Shadow Blizzard is the final volume in the Chronicles of Siala, following Shadow Prowler and Shadow Chaser. It will be released in ebook, hardcover, and audiobook formats on April 24th. An excerpt is available online.

This series is a translation of a popular Russian fantasy series, which has received the Silver Kuduzei and sold over one million books.

Shadow Blizzard is the third book by the international bestselling fantasy author Alexey Pehov. Like Shadow Prowler and Shadow Chaser, Shadow Blizzard is epic fantasy at its best; this is the third book in a trilogy that follows Shadow Harold, Siala’s master thief, on his quest for the magic Horn that will restore peace to his world. After the loss of friends and comrades, after betrayal and battle, after capture by fearsome orcs, Harold finally reaches the dreaded Hrad Spein. But before he can complete his quest by stealing the magic horn, he will have to brave the most fearsome obstacles yet—obstacles that have destroyed everyone before him…and Harold must do so alone.