This week brought 3 review copies and 1 book bargain that I couldn’t resist!

Fox & Phoenix by Beth BernobichFox & Phoenix by Beth Bernobich

After reading Passion Play, I really wanted to read Beth Bernobich’s young adult book coming out this fall.  So when the author contacting me about receiving a galley to review, accepting was a no-brainer!  Now that I’ve had a chance to look through it, I’m looking forward to it even more.  It sounds really good, and I loved the opening line and what I read on the first page.  This is the first book in a series, Lóng City, and it will be released in hardcover on October 13.

“One cool, lively, exciting book set in a unique new world-more, please!”-Tamora Pierce

The king of Lóng City is dying. For Kai Zōu, the news means more than it does for most former street rats in the small mountain stronghold, because he and the king’s daughter are close friends. Then the majestic ruler of the ghost dragons orders Kai to travel across the country to the Phoenix Empire, where the princess is learning statecraft. In a court filled with intrigue, Kai and his best friend Yún must work together to help the princess escape and return to Lóng City. A refreshing mixture of magic, wit, and action, Fox and Phoenix is an auspicious debut!

“I couldn’t stop reading! Ghost dragons, talking pig spirit-companions, magic phones, royal intrigue, and a treacherous journey. . . . I loved this adventure through a unique magic world.”-Sarah Beth Durst, author of Into the Wild

The Immortal Prince by Jennifer FallonThe Immortal Prince by Jennifer Fallon

Recently, I received a copy of The Chaos Crystal by Jennifer Fallon in the mail.  At first I was excited because I’ve been interested in reading a book by Jennifer Fallon for a while, but then I read the press release which said it was the fourth and final book in the Tide Lords series.  After looking up the series, I just wanted to read it more so when I saw this first book was available for just $4.99 in hardcover, I snatched it up.  The fourth book just came out so the Tide Lords is now officially a complete series!

The Tide Lords series order is: The Immortal Prince, Gods of Amyrantha, Palace of Impossible Dreams, and The Chaos Crystal.

“When a routine hanging goes wrong and a murderer somehow survives the noose, the man announces he is an immortal. And not just any immortal, but Cayal, the Immortal Prince, hero of legend, thought to be only a fictional character. To most he is a figure out of the Tide Lord Tarot, the only record left on Amyrantha of the mythical beings who, fables tell, created the half-human, half-animal Crasii, a race of slaves.”

“Arkady Desean is an expert on the legends of the Tide Lords, so at the request of the king’s spymaster she is sent to interrogate this would-be immortal, hoping to prove he is a spy, or at the very least a madman.”

Though she is set the task of proving Cayal a liar. Arkady finds herself believing him against her own good sense. And as she begins to truly believe in the Tide Lords, her own web of lies begins to unravel ….

The Deadliest Bite by Jennifer RardinThe Deadliest Bite by Jennifer Rardin

The eighth and final book in the Jaz Park series will be released on June 2, although it seems to already be shipping from Amazon.  This is another series I’m interested in picking up from book one, but it might be a while until I get to it.  I have heard they are very good books, though!

Excerpts from the first six books in the series can be found on the author’s website.

The books in the Jaz Parks series are:

1. Once Bitten, Twice Shy
2. Another One Bites the Dust
3. Biting the Bullet
4. Bitten to Death
5. One More Bite
6. Bite Marks
7. Bitten in Two
8. The Deadliest Bite

I have two choices. Carve Brude’s name into Hell’s bile-encrusted gates. Or lose my soul.

After an assassination attempt on Vayl, I find myself pulled into a tangled web that takes the gang to Romania. So how will I save a ghost, rescue a demon, and cheat the Great Taker out of a soul he’s slavering for while defeating my nastiest foe yet so that Vayl can, at last, cherish a few precious years with his sons? With careful planning, major violence, and one (hopefully) final trip to Hell.

Eat Slay Love by Jesse PetersenEat Slay Love by Jesse Petersen

This is the third book in the Living With the Dead series, a romantic comedy set during a zombie apocalypse. It will be released on June 28 as a mass market paperback and an ebook.

The books in this series are as follows:

1. Married With Zombies
2. Flip This Zombie
3. Eat Slay Love

Sarah and David have survived the zombie apocalypse. They stood side by side and fought the undead, mad scientists, and even bionic monsters until the unthinkable happened. A zombie bite. But not even that could stop them. Now, with a possible cure in hand, they’re headed east, looking for a safe zone behind the rumored “Wall.” They’re feeling pretty optimistic.

That is until Dave stops sleeping and starts lifting huge objects.

Eat. Slay. Love.

Because they haven’t got a prayer.